Latest News

 Royal Oak Primary gets gold at Tournament of Minds nationals

October 1, 2019


 Royal Oak Primary gets gold at Tournament of Minds nationals

Seven Royal Oak Primary School students are set to represent New Zealand at the Tournament of Minds Internationals in Tasmania next month, after taking out first place in the Social Sciences category at Nationals in Wellington this weekend.


Tournament of Minds, (TOM), is an International problem-solving programme for children, Years 5-10. Running for more than 30 years, TOM tests students’ abilities to create a performance, based around subjects such as The Arts, Social Science, Literature and STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Maths).


Royal Oak entered three teams in this year’s Auckland Tournament, with both their Arts and Social Sciences teams securing spots at the Nationals in September. The teams had just three hours to solve a new set of challenges, which they then used to create a 10-minute performance for the judges. What makes the win even more exceptional is the fact that these primary school children were competing against Intermediate school children from all around New Zealand.


Robyn McConnell, one of the teachers responsible for TOM at Royal Oak Primary, says this was the fourth year the school had entered, and they were amazed with what the teams had achieved. “Every year, the kids continue to surprise us, and this year to have a team win at Nationals is just incredible. We couldn’t be prouder of them, and we are really excited about the next stage of the tournament,” she says.


Given the extremely short time frame before the International Competition on 25th and 26th October, Royal Oak Primary would love to hear from any local businesses or organisations that might be able to offer some cash sponsorship to support members of the team, in what will be an amazing learning and life experience. If you can assist in anyway, big or small, please contact Felicity Boyd on 021464017 or email


(National winners (L-R) Santiago Chavarria, Olivia Kurzeja, Sophie Walter, Zoe Weisz-Emmett, Nathanael Senn, Hamish Vaughan, Aditya Parab)